Mid-range ($1500-ish) Acoustic Electric

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by OldDogGuitarGear, Dec 16, 2009.

1. OldDogGuitarGear

OldDogGuitarGear Member

I'm a novice that's just beginning to get barre chords and a bit of finger picking chops. My starter guitar is a Martin 000X1 which I bought for size, sound and price ($460 new). I'd like to upgrade a bit and would like pre-amp and pickup(s) along with a cutaway (so I can noodle around with backing tracks).

I have medium size hands but not skinny fingers. My current guitar is 1 11/16" at the nut and I'm thinking 1 3/4" might give me a bit more room for A and B shape chords. A shorter scale probably wouldn't hurt, but seem to be rare. And I'm wondering if anyone with similar hands has any particular preference for neck shape/size.

I like the 000 and OM size guitars. A deadnaught just feels too big to me and I imagine a jumbo would too since the lower bout is about the same size. Mini jumbo might be okay, but I've never tried one.

I'd like a handsome, well finished guitar. I'm hoping that a well made guitar with good electronics isn't too much to ask for at the $1500 price range. I do particularly like the look of the sitka spruce top, flamed maple sides and backs, but I do wonder why you don't see more...are they too bright sounding?

Anyway, those are my needs/wants. Any recommendations and advice you have would be appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2009
  2. Tbone135

Tbone135 Member

1500 bucks will get you a very nice guitar. I paid less than that for my Martin RTG-16, and that's my stage acoustic. Martin and Taylor both make A/E guitars that can be set up to play however you'd like it feel. You really don't have to spend a ton to get something you really enjoy.

3. earthlydescent

earthlydescent Senior Member

The Taylor 312ce or 314ce would be great choices. Both sound great, and play very nicely.