MIDI Controllers

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Wes_k, Jul 5, 2006.

1. Wes_k

Wes_k Member

I'm going to be buying a MIDI controller/keyboard very soon and was curious as to what you guys recommend or use. So far the M-Audio Oxygen 8, and their new Axiom 25 are what have caught my attention. I like the drum pad feature on the Axiom 25, but I am unsure if it is a little too complex? 25 keys is all I need, for drum bass and synths. Also, is every MIDI controller compatible with Garageband? as it is my recording program.

Below are the links to the two M-Audio Controllers.

http://www.m-audio.ca/products/en_ca/Axiom25-main.html

http://www.m-audio.ca/products/en_ca...n8v2-main.html

Any input and suggestions please, as I am fairly new to the MIDI and keyboard game.

2. MichaelK

MichaelK Member

IMO not even for that. They always felt flimsy to me, but I didn't know anyone who owned one till last year. A student of mine bought their 88-key weighted controller for practicing. It lasted him about 6 months before keys started malfunctioning, playing maybe an hour, hour and a half a night, if that. It was under warranty, but door-to-door for the repair (actually a full replacement) took about 3 weeks, as I recall.

I've only used synths as my controllers; I never bought one that had no built-in sounds.

3. Guyote

Guyote Member

I'd go with a Novation X-Station:

http://www.novationmusic.com/product.asp?id=1&Type=1&bArchive=False

The Novation website sez:

"The transport functions for GarageBand cannot be controlled with a generic MIDI controller such as the ReMOTE or X-Station as standard, but there is a Preference Pan for GarageBand called GarageRemote* a third party utility that can be downloaded from:

www.muratnkonar.com/otherstuff/garageremote/