Midi foot controller with clock

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Passenger84, Jan 28, 2008.

1. Passenger84

Passenger84 Member

Quick question here. I'm relatively new to the world of midi and I'm wondering if anyone knows of a midi foot controller that able to control presets and is able to send midi clock messages that I can set in beats per minute.

The ability to name patches and as small a pedal as possible with all those features would be bonuses.

Thanks in advance for any help!!

2. Supertgtr

Supertgtr Member

What processor are you using?

3. nrvana8775

nrvana8775 Member

A midi controller that generates a midi clock?

Seems like you would have to have an external clock, and then sync whatever preset you are triggering to that clock. The controller is just a trigger...

Midi button #x triggers Preset A - Preset A can be in sync set midi clock

You want to tap the tempo with one button (button y), then trigger preset a with button x. You need a processor that allows you to tap the tempo for a specific patch, otherwise I don't think you can do this. I don't even know if your processor will create a midi clock to sync to.

Check out www.plogue.com. There is a program called Bidule, and it is a virtual router of sorts. It costs money, but this is an AWESOME tool for not only what you are describing, but to also control parameters on your midi control, sync everything (multiple computers) etc.

4. Passenger84

Passenger84 Member

Thanks for the replies. And sorry, I should have specified: I'm using a Damage Control Timeline, and it accepts midi clock messages to set its delay time. So I'm looking for something I can set in beats per minute that will then send the beats per minute via midi output to the Timeline.