MIDI Keyboard or MIDI Controller

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by Samuel, Feb 3, 2019.

1. Samuel

Samuel Member

Hey,

I don't know which one to go for. I would appreciate if you could share your thoughts to help me decide. I'm new to this.

I like the idea of connecting everything to the audio interface and have everything running on the same sound card but it seems that is only possible with a Controller since the Keyboards are connected directly to the pc. (That's the main reason I am considering a controller.)

To use a keyboard while you're at the same time using the audio interface, wouldn't you have to utilize both your PC's soundcard (to communicate with the keyboard via USB) and the audio interface's soundcard? How would that work with your DAW, for example?

An upside to the keyboards is of course the added functionalities, like the keyboard being able to actually produce its own sound. How useful is that though? I assume there's a wide variety of freely available synths and such to assign to the midi controller as well. The drum pads on a lot of the keyboards out there are of course also beneficial.

What do you think?

EDIT: It seems that writing "MIDI" in front of both the Controller and the Keyboard is probably incorrect. An example of one of keyboards I am referring to would be the "Akai MPK mini", which is connected to the PC via usb. (Although I believe these can still be programmed to alter MIDI in the daw? Not sure)

Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  2. mollydyer

mollydyer Member

I'm confused. Your title says MIDI but the body talks about USB. What specifically are you looking at?

Why would the keyboard be connected directly to the PC?