MIDI setup for a n00b...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Olithar, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Olithar

Olithar Member

OK. I've started running Reaper and Ableton live and am working on putting some clicks and some loops together. Easy enough.

My question comes here: I'll be running my MacBook Pro via an M-Audio Axiom 49. I'm planning on getting a Timeline, which is MIDI controllable. How would I go about making the time parameters of the Timeline slave to Ableton or Reaper, or vicea versa, so that if I start a click with the Axiom on the MacBook, my Timeline goes to that tempo, or if I tap a tempo on the Timeline, the MacBook sets its metronome to that?

I'm new to all of this. Sorry if the answer is obvious.

-Naal

2. Olithar

Olithar Member

3. Iggster

Iggster Member

I don't have a timeline, but I have a eventide timefactor. see if you can set the MIDI clock to receive ableton on the timeline, and the MIDI clock on the timeline send (assuming the timeline has a midi out) back to your midi interface and to ableton. make sure everything is on the right midi channel so they can talk to each other.

you probably need to activate midi clock for both in a systems menu.

4. tibbon

tibbon Member

Getting tempo to slave bi-directionally is going to be hard, if not damn near difficult. You need to choose which you want (slave from pedal, or slave from computer). I'd slave from the computer. Just too much "bad" can happen to a pedal on-stage imho and its harder to have redundancy setup there.

However, if someone smarter than me has a way of doing bi-directional tempo control over midi, let me know. You could do it with other workaround methods (iphone tap tempo controlling live, etc) but you're still having one master.

Controlling the timeline from the computer should be trivial. Just set it as midi slave, set the channel, and then make sure Ableton is outputting midi clock. Done. Animate any parameters as needed.

5. feralchild

feralchild Member