Might trade for a vintage Fender Jag, advice needed

vangkm

Basically I have very little knowledge on Fenders in general let alone vintage Fenders. I have a guy wanting to make a deal with me locally and he has a '64 Jag. I just need to know what to look out for to know that it's a real '64 besides the backplate serial number which can probably be easily reproduced.

I'm hesitant to make the deal but also somewhat interested.

Thanks for any help

If you don't know what to look for, find the nearest reputable vintage guitar dealer, and have the guitar appraised. Even if it costs you $50, you will know exactly what you are getting.

GreenKnight18

It's sort of hard to describe quickly. You can look at the neck stamp and pot dates. Stuff under the pick guard too.

Can you take a lot of pictures-- or have the seller send some to you?

This JimShine article is filled with some good 'foundation.'

Tweedledee

Do you have any photos or has the guy listed the guitar for sale anywhere?

This website gives a relatively accurate quick rundown of details of a vintage Jag: http://www.fenderjaguar.net/vintage.htm

Much of what you need to verify all the components of a '64 Jag requires you to remove the control plates and look at the potentiometer codes, the wiring, etc. Also look under the pickguard to see if there has been any extra routing done. It would also have a date stamp on the back of the neck heel.

Does the guitar have a sunburst finish? That's by far the most common. If it has any other color of finish but has a tortoise pickguard, it's likely refinished, which is pretty common with vintage Jags. Most original vintage Jags in colors other than sunburst also had matching headstocks.

Photos would really help. :)

vangkm

Thanks for the replies guys, the guy seems like an older gent. He's had the guitar for 20 years. Unfortunately I can't take it to a reputable vintage guitar dealer since the closest one is probably a good 2 hours one way.