MIJ Strat ?s

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Sharkey, Jun 4, 2006.

1. Sharkey

Sharkey Member

I'm in the market for a fairly cheap but great playing Strat.I have read here Japanese Strat's are a great bang for the buck guitar's and some prefer them over the MIA Strat's. Can anyone fill me in on these guitars. Are some years better than others? I tried several search's too no avail. I have my eye on a really sweet looking reissue made in 2002 but thought I would ask what my fellow tone hounds thoughts. Anyone here like these?
    Thanks

2. jimmybcool

jimmybcool Supporting Member

Sharkey

First, I have limited experience with electric guitars. I got back into playing about a year ago and only then started playing electrics as well as acoustics. So, this is an opinion with less than expert credentials.

In the USA I own 3 strats. A Kon Tiki special, a Deluxe, and an EJ. The EJ is by far the best playing of the 3 and sounds the best also.

Here in Thailand in my second home I wanted a strat. The local store had few and the best of the bunch was a MIJ. I got limited tryout in their store on a junk amp but GAS made me buy it.

I am not happy with it. It appears to be a well made guitar, but the action is higher than my EJ or Deluxe. Everything works but the amount of single coil noise is excessive and the tone is just so-so. At this point I am planning on selling or trading it and making the trek to Bangkok to see if I can find an EJ up there.

I think this is a decent guitar for the money. I am just willing to pay more for a better one. Perhaps with a different set of pickups it might be OK. Just not for me.

Best of luck in your decision.

3. Sharkey

Sharkey Member

Hey thanks Jimmy,
    Man im joansin for a EJ Strat after playin one at Fat Sound Guitar shop a few weeks back but I just can't swing that kind of cash at the moment.