mission VM1 vs Ernieball MVP

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by strings4v, Mar 25, 2015.

1. strings4v

strings4v Member

other than being active vs passive... how do you guys think they compare?
    I have the mission one myself, but I sometimes wish the sweep range was wider....Thinking about changing it to MVP. 20db boost could come in handy as I usually put my volume pedal in the fx loop or after drive.
    watcha say?

2. strings4v

strings4v Member

3. Abandoned

Abandoned Member

Interested in this too

4. eddie knuckles

eddie knuckles Member

Can't speak to the Mission VM1, but I graduated from the EB Jr (passive) to the MVP based on the suggestion of a trusted colleague. Great pedal, the MVP. Plenty of gain available if you want to push the front of your amp hard. No high end loss either. I am a happy guy with the MVP.

5. gavinashun

gavinashun Member

I bought VM1 but will be returning. I don't like the sweep - both how fast it goes from zero to near fully (seems like it gets to near full well before half the pedal distance), and also just the physical feeling of the pedal seems more constrained than an ernie ball, or even like a roland EV expression pedal.

6. strings4v

strings4v Member

Is there a way I can turn my VM1 into an expression pedal with a 25K pot?

7. amz-fx

amz-fx Supporting Member

You should be able to rewire any passive volume pedal into an expression pedal. Change the output jack to stereo (if necessary) then run wires from the pot, with the center (wiper) going to the tip connection of the jack, and the ends of the pot to the other 2 lugs of the jack. If it sweeps backwards to what you like, switch the end wires of the pot to reverse the action.

The Mission VM-Pro is an active volume pedal and also comes in a version that adds up to 15dB of boost (V-Boost pedal).

regards, Jack

8. lebihanj

lebihanj Member