mixing it up in protools

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Cary Chilton, Sep 14, 2006.

1. Cary Chilton

Cary Chilton Senior Member

I read a few threads that you should try making sure your drum mono and stereo tracks in BFD's input signal (are at a starting point)be at -12db to max headroom in on verall mix. I read that the master fader fader output should only approach 0db, so like -0.3 , -0.1 etc.... I tried it and the results were better than I had before... BUT
    What about guitars, vox and bass, synth etc? Should the mic pre signal also be set hot as possible before clipping on the tracks fader and THEN setting the tracks fader level at -12db, as a good starting point with the goal of the master fader near 0db?
    BTW I when I mixed and submixed everything so that the reading on the master was near 0 db, the overall output WAS TOO quiet for my liking, but the dynamics and the clarity were nice. Bare with me, this is my first attempt at mixing.... So then, on the master, I inserted the MAXIM plug and lowered the threshold (-4db or so)and the overall mix on the master was much louder but still clear. I set MAXIM noise shaping and 20 bit. THen below I inserted POWR, at 16 bit ( should I pick 20bit?) and then selected noise 2. So far the results are pretty good. I really want to Ozone to make it better. Would Ozone essentially replace Maxim's function?
    Can anyone pros here explain what I can do better or if I did things correctly? How would I better use Maxim? I hope this thread will get out a lot of info. for many people here who I know will find this stuff as useful as me.

2. suprotennessee

suprotennessee Member

I think I am following what you are saying.