MM transformer Q's

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by fenderbender4, Nov 3, 2005.

1. fenderbender4

fenderbender4 Gold Supporting Member

I'm new to understanding all of the stuff about transformers. My question is, on the price page, they have lists for the prices of their products. What is/are the differences between the 1 piece, 5 piece, 25 piece, etc. trasformers? Is the more expensive one always the way to go? Does this include the choke and all of the other stuff too? Thanks.

2. tiptone

tiptone Silver Supporting Member

I believe those are prices for if you buy 1 unit, 5 units, or 25 units all at the same time. So the single unit will always be the most expensive, no difference in quality. (Correct me if I'm wrong).

3. JamesPeters

JamesPeters Member

You're building amps now, fenderbender4?

4. SQUAREHEAD

SQUAREHEAD Supporting Member

;)

5. Jerrod

Jerrod Silver Supporting Member

No, just buying transformers by the pallet. :)

6. joel

joel Member

I absolutely believe that the most expensive ones are the best! If you want tone, order the #25 grade ones. Otherwise, you'll never know how good it could have been...

7. JamesPeters

JamesPeters Member

You guys are mean. ;)

8. fenderbender4

Ha! No, I'm not building amps, I'm just thinking of getting a Hayseed and sticking in a different transformer.

9. Red Planet

Red Planet Member

All I can say is you've got it bad dude. :)

Have you tried Beano or Gasex?:D

10. JamesPeters

JamesPeters Member

Is the output transformer supposed to be bad sounding, or very small? If not, I'd suggest leaving it alone.

11. doctord02

doctord02 Member

I also want to know why? You're gonna buy a highly rated custom amp and second guess the builder by changing the iron? Have you ever built an amp before? I dont get it...

12. fenderbender4