• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Mobile/Home Recording Setup

Jazztone

I am about to take the plunge and aquire the home recording studio I have wanted for so long. Here is my setup as I imagine it. I am posting it as I am new to recording and hope I am not missing something. Any advice???? Recording mostly jazz fusion type stuff.

Apple MacBook Pro, 17", Core 2 Duo, 4 GB Mem, 320 GB Hard drive.

Logic Pro 8

Superior 2.0... percussion

Apogee Duet... I record alone. Never more than 2 inputs at once. Ensemble?

Fractal Audio Axe-Fx... input for guitar and bass

Good headphones... monitors come later.

Will need a good all around mike or two.

Jaradc

Aside from guitar, bass and drums, what other instruments would you mic. As you might know, the SM57 fits into a lot of needs just right, but discussing mics is like discussing politics or religion. It really depends on what you are planning to record though. Everything so far seems good. But i recommend getting good monitors first, unless you live in an apartment situation. Listening to mixes is a lot more natural through monitors, obviously. I personally only use the cans to listen to something closely that's bothering me, or checking cues. But it's all preference. Good luck with your studio!