Modding Vox V847 into Volume Pedal

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by sanders4617, Jan 7, 2008.

1. sanders4617

sanders4617 Member

Ok. I never use my Wah-Wah pedal. I have been thinking about buying a volume pedal, so I think I have heard of people modding their wahs into a volume pedal.

Is there a way to do this? If so how?

Also.. if its possible, I would like to make a switch to go from one to the other.

I am not too good with reading a schematic and seeing what to do, I usually need some kind of visual whether it be in picture or just detailed words before I understand completely. If anyone can explain, please do so. I would appreciate it.

2. GCDEF

GCDEF Supporting Member

It would be easier to sell the wah and buy a volume pedal.

3. Uma Floresta

Uma Floresta Senior Member

I guess you could build some kind of simple clean boost and put that in there in place of the wah guts, and use the wah pot as the volume pot.

4. Uma Floresta

Actually, there might be room for both - you could put a switch in there to go from wah to volume.

5. Axekisser

Axekisser Member

If I remember correctly, you just need to remove the cap that's across the inductor. Should be an easy mod. I have an old EH Crying Tone wah that can be used for a volume by turning a switch. I think the schematic is on line.

6. Uma Floresta

Interesting!

7. mistercoffee1

mistercoffee1 Member

It's the cap that's labeled 4.7 uF.
    You can remove a leg (closest to the edge on the v847 circuit), or you can install a switch so you can have it in our out.
    [​IMG]

8. Uma Floresta

I'm going to have to try this out - I'm getting a Vox wah on a trade, but volume pedals to me are more useful than wahs. it will be nice to have both in one without actually spending any money or getting stuck with another brand (I like the Vox sound).

The other mods look interesting too.

9. sanders4617

sanders4617 Member