Modeler users (11R, Axe Fx, Kemper, etc) FRRR and the need to tweak EQ

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by BuckeyeBrown, Feb 21, 2012.

1. BuckeyeBrown

BuckeyeBrown Supporting Member

I have the an 11R that I was playing through small Yamaha HS50M's and they sound great. To get louder I was disabling cabs and going into my tube amps effects loop. Sounded great.

Last week I pulled the trigger and got the Kemper. Its awesome and I'm planning on selling my 2 tube amps, cab and probably 11R and going full modelling stereo rig and pick up two active FRFR cabs last night.

I just auditioned them through music in the store which sounded fine but I'm new to FRFR so I wasn't sure what to expect. After a much debate I decided to go cheap and stick with my desire to run a stereo rig in my basement. I don't gig so yes, I know having this much power is overkill for my needs but coming from tube amp and cabs I could just be satisfied with 5" near field monitors.

I went with the Mackie Thumps on sale, hooked it all up last night, enable my cabs on the Kemper but was underwhelmed. Perhaps too much new stuff going on (FRFR sound with cab modeling on, etc.). I knew the Mackie Thumps would require dialing out the boomieness but I also felt the need to change my global "Master" eq settings too. In addition I also feel the need to tweak eq on many of the profiles too.... :huh

Okay so what's my point/questions...

Is tweaking EQ to agree with/sound good with FRFR speakers something that I should have expected?

Is the nature uploading other people's profiles into the Kemper something that I should have expected that I would need to tweak to sound good through my FRFR's? It makes sense that this would be needed but I feel like I'll probably need to tweak all of my profiles to sound right.