Modeling amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by nland, Jun 16, 2006.

1. nland

nland Member

Hi. I just came across this site today and think it's pretty cool. I'm blown away at the number of folks who are playing tube amps. Just wondered what some opinions are of modeling amps?

I've been playing guitar for 34 years and just started using modeling amps and have some mixed thoughts about them. I bought a Line 6 Duoverb Head and a Flextone III combo off of ebay recently. Love the duoverb but the Flextone sounds a little thin and raspy for my tastes. I'm not into solid state amps, and just simply can't crank a tube amp here at home, so modeling seemed the way to go for me.

2. JoeinLA

JoeinLA Member

I've got a Mk IIC+, Tremoverb, and a Vetta. I like the Vetta ALOT. I'm no pro, just a hobbyist, so I'm no tone god, but I think modeling amps are great at low volumes and the number of options that the Vetta gives are so huge that it'll keep you occupied for a good long while.

That being said, it's hard to beat the Boogies when they get good and cranked.

3. hw2nw

hw2nw Member

I dug my Duoverb! Definitely some great tones in there to use. I used mine live for praise/worship music...the direct outs for both amps is incredibly easy to send to the board and combine there!!!

4. Curt

Curt Member

I went the othere way. After owning a half dozen high dollar botique amps, I sold them and bought a Cube 60. Love it. I finally came to the realization that owning a $2,500 head and $750 2/12 cab to play in my living room was insane.

Try a Cube 60. You'll love it.

5. TheFlash

TheFlash Member

Anyone use the valvetronix series amps? Or is the cube 60 that much better?

6. VaughnC

VaughnC Supporting Member