Modern Eagle has landed!

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by AaeCee, Feb 24, 2006.

1. AaeCee

AaeCee Member

Got my ME, and here are some impressions after an extended road test. Wow. This is my 6th PRS, and only one at this time. While all PRS's exude quality, this one is on another level. They have absolutely set the bar higher. Major flame top (mine's 'Old Natural') with a full Braz. rosewood neck. I chose a stoptail.
    As a former bicycle mechanic, I've always embraced the principle that the highest quality products respond the most readily, directly, and precisely to any adjustments. The ME epitomizes that. Out of this world build quality. Very rewarding to tweek it.
    It is as 'alive' a guitar as I've ever played. This thing is fully involved on each pluck, as though it is one single piece of wood. The Braz. neck surely contributes to this, but the rest, including the thin nitro finish, is surely a factor. Amazing sustain, resonance galore. Mine's a hair over 8 lbs., which seems an ideal weight for this model.
    Soundwise, I haven't yet been able to extract a weak tone from it. PRS obviously did their homework on the pickups and wood combinations. Even the split tones on this are rich and well defined (not the case on other PRS's I've owned).
    A final 'acid test' test for me is whether I would consider buying another of the same guitar. I'm already contemplating the color!
    So if you're wondering if the ME is worth the big $$, rest assured, it is. I predict that this will not only prove to be a benchmark and template for the future of PRS, it will become one of the classics of all guitardom. AC

2. goodtone

goodtone Member

Congratulations on your Modern Eagle ! I played the Eaqle and a beautiful Blue Mateo Hollowbody ll (Artist Package) and wished I could take both home. Both had great necks. How does the Hollowbody ll compare to the Modern Eagle ?

3. paintguy

paintguy Long Hair Hippy Freak Silver Supporting Member

AaeCee,