Modern Firebird Woes

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by PeteyNaf, Mar 18, 2015.

1. PeteyNaf

PeteyNaf Member

So, I've been playing my 2014 Firebird for the past 6 months or so. I love the look and playability, but I'm really frustrated with the pickups. I skimmed through mostly negative comments about the pickups before buying, but I figured there was no way they could be as bad as everyone described.

Today, I've come to the consensus that yes, they are that bad. Brittle, tinny, and cheap sounding. I tried for months to get used to the sound, hoping I'd warm up to them.

Now I pose the question, are there any after market firebird pickups that sound more like a regular humbucker? I realiise that's not what the traditional firebird pickup sounded like, but I'm just wondering. I was hoping to have a sound closer to an sg/les les paul rather than a $100 piece of garbage you buy at target/walmart.

2. jklotz

jklotz Supporting Member

Any of these would be miles ahead of the stock clunkers:

http://www.seymourduncan.com/products/electric/specialized/mini-humbucker/

I noticed Rob Di Stefano is winding firebird pickups now:

http://www.cavalierpickups.com/#phoenix

For what you say you are looking for, you'd probably be better off going with a mini hum bucker as opposed to a vintage style firebird pickup. Lollars are always a good choice.

I went with zangbuckers in mine. Took almost 4 months to get them. Not sure I'd go that route again, but then maybe he's managed to tighten up his delivery times?

3. SPROING!

SPROING! Member

I don't like playing firebirds but I love firebird pickups...vintage style firebird pickups.
    No idea why Gibson doesn't get this, but not many people like the "new" high output versions.
    My Duncans are sweet, smooth and sound like a strat with a big fat voice.
    Replace those suckers with a more accurate reproduction and you'll be in good shape.
    Lollar, Klein, Duncan and others all make beautiful sounding versions.