'Modern' Plexi/Superlead type amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by mikey, Jul 12, 2006.

1. mikey

mikey Supporting Member

I've been using a Marshall Jubilee for about 8 years and I'd like to upgrade to a better quality amp with a 'modded' plexi/superlead voicing (i.e. a more 'open' tone, less compressed than the Jubilee, must respond very well to guitar volume control). No bells and whistles, just a single channel format and an effects loop would be a welcome addition. Anything out there that might get me there? Roccaforte? Others? Thanks for reading!

2. Rambo66

Rambo66 Member

You could always just buy a late 70's Marshall and have Don Butler convert it Plexi specs. Apparently he did Peter Stroud's fawn 100-watter and he loves it.

3. bstranathan

bstranathan Member

can you get the Early hendrix tone and '68 superlead hendrix tone out of a two-rock?

4. funk49

funk49 Member

Metroamp...period. I just got a 12 series that was built by a famous amp tech with the intention of doing some custom circuit stuff. My 12xxx Plexi clone is seriously giving my '67 50 watter a run for it's money. I"m not even sure I want to mess with it at this point, it's that damn good.

5. GaryMcT

GaryMcT Gold Supporting Member

Which ones are the 12 series? I don't see that on their page. I've been contemplating getting a kit and building a plexi-style amp as a hobby project.

6. PlexiBreath

PlexiBreath Member

You might go with your first instinct, the Roccaforte sounds like a match for your needs.

7. funk49

funk49 Member

8. GaryMcT

GaryMcT Gold Supporting Member

9. joolzriff

joolzriff Member

i own 2 jubilees 1 with EL34's and one with 6550's,i allways reach for the 6550 one cos i can roll back my volume and clean right up also NOS mullards help......i dont think u need a new amp i thought i did til i got the 6550 jubilee...........

10. Newton

Newton Member