Morris Amps - owners

jamest364

Hi all

Newbie here, Just put down the money for a new Morris amp but I'm really indecisive as to what model to go for, any thoughts?

Will be mainly used in a blues environment so clean/mild breakup and hit with a clean boost is my requirements. The Mojo/Gcm 008 look the top contenders but he's doing a 15/18 combo which looks cool.

Any input would be very helpful as I'm in the UK and I struggle with youtube clips in terms of hearing characteristics in detail and trying one is obviously impossible.

Cheers guys!

bbaug14

Silver Supporting Member
I had a GCM - 008. Great amp. The "clean" is a Plexi style sound that almost has Vox characteristics to it. The gain channel is a 800 with more gain. Really cool amp.

The MOJO has been likened to an Express type amp. I've never been fortunate enough to play one though. Lots of gain and lots of mods as I understand it.

jamest364

Totally agree, great guy! I get lost sometimes in conversation with Glen, it's like there's no limit to what he can design and build and suddenly I want everything and lose track of only choosing one amp, but yes probably call him, just trying to find and bluesy players that use his amps for a little feedback, have you played many of his amps?

Cheers!

jamest364

I had a GCM - 008. Great amp. The "clean" is a Plexi style sound that almost has Vox characteristics to it. The gain channel is a 800 with more gain. Really cool amp.

The MOJO has been likened to an Express type amp. I've never been fortunate enough to play one though. Lots of gain and lots of mods as I understand it.

I started off with thinking the GCM 008 and switched to the Mojo, now he has a couple of combo's that look fun, the 15/18 a kind of mini mojo with EL84 and a cool looking perplex'd junior single ended class A

I will probably end up with a couple....

Thanks for your input

filmosound