most important thing you've learned?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by RMstrat, Jun 13, 2008.

1. RMstrat

RMstrat Member

Ive been playing for a couple of years and I still suck..not as bad as I used to..but pretty much suck. I always feel like there is some secret that I dont know..Always trying new stuff...Pretty much just suckin. What has helped you all the most(If you dont mind sharing)..Tired of living in wankersville.

2. Noah

Noah Member

Most important thing I've learned is to play with a variety of musicians, and do it often.

3. mrdavek

mrdavek Member

Learning the CAGED technique!

And working on melodic approach rather than flash!

4. jazzandmetal?

jazzandmetal? Supporting Member

He took my answer.

5. elgalad

elgalad Senior Member

I'll definitely +1 this - great way to pick up new ideas and styles.

Also, learning to slow down. Play less notes, but make them count. Oh, and put as much practice as you can into your vibrato.

But, if there's one thing I've learned that's really helped me more than anything, it's realizing that everyone thinks they suck. I've yet to meet any musician that doesn't have an artificially low opinion of themselves. I'm not advocating being arrogant or egotistical, but just try to be a bit more circumspect about these things. Know what you need to practice, and work on it, but remember that there isn't some magical point you'll reach where you can sit down and say to yourself "I'm an awesome guitarist," it's a journey - just enjoy the ride and take pleasure from the little things you learn every day :)

6. rob2001

rob2001 Member

Speed kills! No, i'm not knockin speedy playing. Just sayin when I started to slow things down and see the beauty of a few well placed and well played notes it really opened up my expression as a lead player.

7. 5E3

5E3 Member