Most Versatile Electric Guitar?

BillyL

I'm a veteran professional player, and I've owned many different electrics over the years, from arch tops to bolt ons.

I play a wide range of styles on my gigs, from jazz to rock to funk to reggae, and I need a single instrument that can cover it all. I mostly gig with a custom "super strat" with EMG SAs and a mid range boost control. It is quite versatile in the tones it offers, and I'm not dissatisfied, but I'm curious what others would say is the most versatile instrument they have played?

TheoDog

Silver Supporting Member
The telecaster is likely to be a resounding fave of this thread.
My #1 appears to be a tele, but it has a Bigsby, Filter'Tron and Fralin Steel pole pickups, and a JazzMaster neck.

Gas Hed

I would say my Ernie Ball Music Man Axis Super Sport. Excellent humbucking tones and the split coil tones rival a SSS guitar.

My main guitar is a PRS Swamp Ash Special with Modern Eagle pickups... I use it for everything from jazz to rock, blues, country, P&W, indie, funk, fusion, etc...

I can get any full humbucker sound i want... plus the single coil sounds of a strat.... without noise! :D

i love that guitar

ldizzle

Silver Supporting Member
The one you play the best on ;)

I'm sure teles, Les Pauls, 335s, and ssh strats will be mentioned. Some days I prefer my lpc... Some days a tele... Some days the falcon...I'm convinced it's the player.

derekd

Silver Supporting Member
I'd say either a tele or 335. See'em in pretty much every context where electric guitars are played.

kingsleyd

Frikkin genyus
Platinum Supporting Member
I guess it depends somewhat on what your functional requirements are.

Personally I've never been a one-guitar kind of player. I also perform in a lot of different musical genres/styles; there are certain types of gigs where I can get away with a single instrument (jazz brunch, e.g.) but for the most part my rule of thumb is bring three guitars and a three-guitar rack.