Mountain bike wrenchers

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by ford, Apr 27, 2015.

1. ford

ford Supporting Member

I have a 1996 Gary Fisher Hoo Koo E Koo ...

I'd like some handlebars with a bit of a rise.... something similar to this...
    http://www.jensonusa.com/Answer-Alumilite-Riser-Bar

Not looking for anything expensive. I'm just a casual rider these days.

I'm a novice when it comes to upgrading or changing out parts... I've had this bike for years and outside of tire changes and new chains, it is stock.

How many different size bars are out there? Will I need to buy a new stem/handlebar set or can I just find bars?

Is it hard to remove the grips and gear shifters from the handle bars?

I'm not going to put the fishsticks back on the ends of the bar... I just don't really use them.

I know it shouldn't be a difficult job but I know there are several riders here and I'll take any advice and tips I can get.

Thanks!

2. Joe Robinson

Joe Robinson Gold Supporting Member

It's all dependent on whether your bike has a threadless headset riser and stem, or a quill stem.

You have a threadless system if the stem clamps around the fork tube. You have a quill if the stem fits into the tube.

Threadless is the standard these days, and all the stems and bars reflect this. The most common stem and bar combo is a 31.8mm, I believe, though they are getting bigger in diameter on downhill bikes.

Jenson is a great place to look for it. But a good local bike shop can sort you out also.

3. Dereksslide

Dereksslide Member