moving from prod support to java development?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Kluch, Feb 26, 2015.

1. Kluch

Kluch Member

Long story short, I currently work a production support job where I do some sql dba work (nothing intensive). Had a good friend tell me that his company is going to be hiring another java developer soon and was he wanted to see if I was interested in the opportunity. I'm no java developer by any means but I studied java a couple years back in school (I'm 26 now) and I'm very familiar with programming. My company is already paying for me to get some more training in sql to be a backup for our sr sql dba, thing is I really would like to move more into development in the future.
    I feel a bit conflicted as I haven't programmed in java for quite some time, but I'm confident that with the right practice and resources I could be a good candidate for this position. I also know I would be working closely with my friend as a fellow developer and he values our current connection.

Have any of my fellow TGPers who are in development or IT gone through something similar? Moved from one area of profession to another? I'm just hoping it will be worth my time to dive back into Java... even from a future career standpoint.

2. catpeople

catpeople Senior Member

Knowing SQL won't help much in a traditional java shop, because java people love their abstractions and would rather learn complex crap like spring than write their own SQL. I know a lot of java data engineers who barely know any SQL.

Java isn't going anywhere, though, so it's a good skill to develop.

What kind of development would it be? Web? Data processing? Middleware? Java has such an immense ecosystem nobody is good at all of it and it takes a while to learn any one thing.

3. stratovarius

stratovarius Supporting Member

You'll be jumping from the frying pan into the fire.