multi fx to single pedals=crap jam last nite

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by TimSt.L, Feb 22, 2012.

1. TimSt.L

TimSt.L Member

I've been using multi fx for over fifteen years. I finally sold a couple things and built a very straightforward pedalboard.

An ernie volume, bad horsie 2, digitech whammy,mxr carbon copy delay, Delta labs flanger, and an isp decimator.

Well i had all kinds of issues last night. Frustrated the hell out of me. A very loud buzz was coming from somewhere. I trial and errored it all and found that the second I plug in my one spot to any pedal that's in the chain, it will start buzzing like crazy. are single pedal boards usually a pain in the ass? Are people constantly changing patch cables, one spots etc? If so, I might just go back to my pod xt live.

Just a bit frustrated.

2. inystad

inystad Member

The reason that happened is because the onespot isn't isolated, thus if one pedal is noisy, it spreads to all the pedals (someone help me explain this better).

I'm fine. I highly recommend Lava ELC solderless patch cables and a power unit with isolated outlets, such as Voodoo Labs Pedal Power 2+, CIOKS, etc.

3. TimSt.L

TimSt.L Member

That makes sense. I bought all brand new patch cables, all brand new pedals, and a new one spot with the five pedal adapter so I can run five pedals off of one One spot.

4. C-4

C-4 Member

Here for now, Europe when I die. Am I dead yet?
    The only multi-effects unit that I bought in the last 25 years is the TC Nova System. My first multi-effects unit was a small one that worked nicely, but just broke down after years of use. Everything else I have used has been p-boards.

The TC NS can be set up in pedal board format and is really flexible and easy to use.
    If you are considering going back to a multi-effects format but want extreme simplicity, ease-of-use, and reliability, look into a Nova System.