Multimeter Advice......

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by amp boy, Feb 25, 2009.

1. amp boy

amp boy Member

Hey Folks,

I am looking to get a multimeter, and would appreciate some recommendations of what to look for.
    I have never used on before, and am looking to get into working and understanding guitar and amp electronics.
    So far i have picked up a Hakko soldering iron, and will be picking up hand tools as needed. I have some of the basics already.
    I believe investing in a quality iron was a good choice, and am now looking to do the same with a multimeter.

What do i need in a multimeter for guitar and amp/speaker cab work ??

Any recomendations, and why ??
    I'll most likely be buying used off ebay, since i cannot find anything in Toronto......damn box stores and knock off markets !!!!
    There is one pro tool place i know of...the only place that knew what a hand reamer was for wood working. I'll check there sometime, but the price would be over me most likely.

hope yer all having a fine day, thank you kindly for your time.

- Amp Boy, ........ahhhh superman is no match for this wall of sound !!!:thud

2. RussB

RussB low rent hobbyist Silver Supporting Member

I am very happy with my Fluke 87 and 83-V

These are both auto-rangeing true RMS meters. They tolerate mistakes without nary a flinch, for instance when you try to measure DC voltage while the selector is set to read resistance

3. wyatt

wyatt Member

I have a Fluke 110 that has served me well so far, though I've been hearing grumbles about more and more dying prematurely, and they are expensive if they have to be replaced. Autorange is a nice fast feature, but sometimes it requires getting in there and forcing a range.

You want AC voltage, DC voltage, continuity, resistance, capacitance, if you get one that does transistor gain levels (hFE), it works great for pedals.

The Victor Weber sells seems nice and versatile for a midrange piece.