Music Man HD130 Power Tube Question

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by zach5150, Jan 26, 2006.

1. zach5150

zach5150 Guest

Hi,
    I have a guy bringing me a Music Man HD130 head that I'm going to try and fix for him. He said it burned out a power tube....someone tried to repair it, and when he retubed it, it ran for a short while, then burned up another tube. He has a brand new matched quad for it, but naturally he doesnt want to install them till the problem is found and repaired.
    Anybody have any suggestions on where I should start looking for something that is burning up power tubes? I havent' even looked at the schematics, or have the amp in my possesion yet, but I just thought I'd put a feeler out to see if anyone had some suggestions.

FWIW, my level of "expertise" is that I've been an electronics technician for nearly 15 years...starting off in high school at a TV and radio repair shop....then as an Electronics Tech in the Navy for 5 years, and for the last 5 years or so, I've been working as an Equipment Engineering Technician on Semiconductor equipment. So, I know my way around High Voltage, meters, schematics, etc....but, I've only gotten serious w/ tube audio within the last year. I'm starting my first amp build as we speak, and I've done some repairs on my old amps (and friends) as well as biasing etc for the last few years, but I'm certainly no guru like some of the guys here.....Anyway...just wanted to let you know my background so you'd be able to respond appropriately.
    Thanks
    Zach

2. Fuchsaudio

Fuchsaudio Supporting Member