Music production in Phoenix AZ - anybody know?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Rumblefish, May 2, 2016.

1. Rumblefish

Rumblefish Silver Supporting Member

Thinking of moving to Phoenix area and build another studio. I just dont know if there is much of a musician/ recording engineer pool to draw upon. Anybody know?

soundcloud-7823901-Instant Ocean

MattLeFevers likes this.
  2. loudboy

loudboy Member

There's a big recording school in Tempe, so you'll have as many interns as you need. <g>

MattLeFevers likes this.
  3. Rumblefish

Thanks Loudboy!

4. MattLeFevers

MattLeFevers Member

It's true, there are a few good recording schools here. The Conservatory is the big fancy one but Mesa Community College actually has a stellar recording program that churns out really high quality engineers as well. I got my degree from there and have since worked with more than one other graduate (guys I didn't even know while I was in the program) who have been much better than me.

As far as musicians, I'm not as plugged into the local scene as I used to be but local indie record store Zia Records just put out their yearly local band compilation and they got about four hundred submissions. (My band did not make it on, haha.) Between that and the talent pool at the open mic I go to sometimes, I can infer there are plenty of bands and/or songwriters kicking around the Phoenix area.

5. Sweetfinger

Sweetfinger Supporting Member

I think the area is overserved. I'm not even a "recording" guy, and have never even cut a finished project, but If/when I need to record, I can call, off the top of my head, nine studios, ranging from a small, modest one-room that did a blues record that did well on the charts last year, to a couple big ones that have done records everyone has heard. These are guys I know.