• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Musical identity as a starting musician?

vinchan126

It might be a meaningless rant, but I hope I can share some of my thinking I'm having these days, and hope to get some ideas from folks here.

I'm a recent graduate from somewhat famous contemporary music school in Los Angeles. When I started out as a student, I could never visualize myself as a musician. I only wanted to get better as a guitarist than making in the business.

I started playing guitar because I was huge fan of Nirvana and Eric Clapton(weird combination, I know). After a while in the school, I met many famous jazz musicians, and they introduced me to play more jazz. I sincerely loved every aspects of jazz, blues and rock.

Anyway, I'm now out of school, and I feel like I'm not specialized at anything. I do get few works in my neighbor's studio for whatever small stuffs, but I can't just figure out what I can do, Or what I want to do for the future.

I know I wanted to make music like my idols did, but I feel like I'm just goofing around whole bunch of styles, and not having those "speciality" in a certain area. And it's just frustrating.

Can anyone pleased share any similar thoughts??

woof*

Pick a genre or two you like most, learn 100 songs, form a band....go out there and play a few years.
You will get good at it and write your own stuff at some point.
You gotta start somewhere...school or no school most do it this way...even Clapton.

wire-n-wood

Silver Supporting Member
Write songs, play them, sing them, record them. Play music that you want to play.
In my view, you don't start by trying to be "in" a genre. Start by expressing what you have to express.

speakerjones

Being well versed in different styles can only benefit you, both as a working musician, and as you develop your own style.

Pitar