My '74 Ibanez rat tele project.

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by buddyboy69, Mar 1, 2015.

1. buddyboy69

buddyboy69 Member

I was given this guitar by an ex girlfriend around '91, its a 1974 Ibanez tele copy. this thing has been through the ringer and was one of my main gig guitars for 6 years. I have re-fretted it twice and done a fret level 2x on the jumbos as well.

It started out yellow, then it was brown and gouged out to put 3 strat pickups in it, then i re-built it and put it back to a telecaster configuration. I have been playing it for the last 8 months on just the bare wood.

I finally got around to throwing some paint on it and went for a flat/matte black finish. being that the neck is just the way i like it, well worn in with nicks, cig burns and the like, i tried my hand at a bit of light relicing to keep the body matched. i also experimented using acrylic paints and finishes, im getting tired of the lacquer and poly stink.

Fixing the bad routs and multiple holes.
    [​IMG]

There must have been 5 different sets of tuners on this at one time or another.
    [​IMG]

Put back together and set up, plays great but i didnt want to tear it apart.
    [​IMG]

I always liked the idea of a RAT Tele so here it is.
    [​IMG]

I aged the hardware using muriatic acid, too shiny for a rat. I also made an aluminum electronics plate for it, i didnt finish it so hopefully it will oxadize soon.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

i have been rehearsing with it without the pickguard so i can adjust the neck pickup, but i like it without it and i might keep it that way. but here is a picture with the guard anyway.
    [​IMG]

its hard to tell in the pictures, but most everything is scratched up pretty good and it looks like the heavily used guitar it really is. i am very happy with it, it is extremely responsive using just the volume and tone knobs.