My Advice too all of the home players

alivegy

So i have to admit it, at this point I'm an apartment warrior. I'm not really in a band, I mostly just jam on my own and write songs and riffs. I just love to play. Sometimes I don't even want to play I just want to hear guitar, so I play anyway acting as both solo performer and lone audience member. Since I'm not jamming away in clubs and stadiums volume is always a huge consideration, but just because I don't do this for a living doesn't mean I'm any less particular or crazy about my tone. I've been playing for 14 years, have lived in an apartment for the last 5 years, and I play on average 2 hours a day. So here are some of the nuggets that I have learned a long the way to getting good tone at a reasonable volume.

1. Buy the amp that you want regardless of wattage. 1 watt is freaking loud, if you buy a low wattage amp expecting to be able to crank it up without bothering anyone, prepare to be disappointed. My princeton reverb is a small clean machine, but even at low volumes it sounds stiff and sterile. Don't buy something that "sounds like" or is xxxx with less wattage because it is not. As soon as you start changing the power section of an amp to acomodate lower wattages you have changed the tone, especially when that requires new transformers and every consequence that comes with it. I have a 100 watt Marshall sitting in my living room and it puts a grin on my face even before I flip the thing on.