My biggest pet peeve as a guitar player

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by Pastafarian, Dec 7, 2019.

1. Pastafarian

Pastafarian Member

I have been a working cover band musician for many years. I am a bit obsessive when it comes to emulating different sound and tones in cover songs. I don't try to sound exactly like the guitarist in a song or obsess over note for note solos and such, but if a song has a certain effect (especially delay) or type of gain/clean I do obsess over getting effects and gain right. I think it enhances the experience not only for myself but for the punters and such.

My big pet peeve is other players who dont even try to get in the ballpark of how the guitar sounds for specific songs. For instance using a dual rec with maxed out gain to play stuff like Bad Company and ACDC or not using any delay in a song that prominently features it. I have had to be in bands with players like that and drove me nuts. Especially when someone just uses cranked distortion for everything.

Everyone has pet peeves and this being TGP I'm sure some will chime in with "My pet peeve is tone nazi's who think everyone should be like them" but feel free to share your honest pet peeves.

TDJMB, moore_for_less, BADHAK and 2 others like this.
  2. Killed_by_Death

Killed_by_Death Member

It's even worse with bass players IME.
    If the song has a punchy bass-line, you'll likely just hear mushy thump from the cover-band bass.

3. Pastafarian

Pastafarian Member

yup totally agree.

uab9253 and Killed_by_Death like this.
  4. Calebz

Calebz Member

5. CacoDaemon

CacoDaemon Member

It's more fun to play it my way than to be a human karaoke machine.

seward, SimAlex, james evans and 22 others like this.
  6. Ajax77799

Ajax77799 Member

Guys who play pentatonic minor over major chord progressions

7. tycobb73

tycobb73 Supporting Member