My Failed Attempt at Shellac'ing

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by TastyPasty, Jul 2, 2006.

1. TastyPasty

TastyPasty Member

So... I spent about 3 hours or so trying to shellac my Deville after reading guruyans post and... it did not come out so great.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

First off, I am a novice, gururyans instructions were great, the problem was that I didn't follow them as well as I should have, nor was I all that careful. Anyway...I did it in somewhat of a rush, which yielded terrible results (namely the top looking like someone barfed on it), the sides looking splotchy and drippy... etc, etc.I could use the "It's a relic!!!" excuse, but I'd much rather have my amp looking like gururyans...

Anyway... is there anything I can do to save it?

Will more coats of shellac solve the problem or do I need to look into re-covering my amp ....:(

2. tonezoneonline

tonezoneonline Member

You can try and remove most of the shellac with some denatured alcohol.
    If your using canned shellac cut it by 1/3 with the alcohol before trying to apply it again.Use a china bristle brush.I use badger hair brushes but they are expensive.Do not overbrush shellac.Try to lay on an even coat in one direction.

3. TastyPasty

TastyPasty Member

Thanks tonezone and BlueJakester.

4. PB Wilson

PB Wilson Member

The beauty of shelac is that it is easily reversible. It is a bit more difficult to apply than your garden variety varnish, but the results are worth it. Don't try to push it around. Try to let it flow out of your brush and let it sit. This takes a bit of practice, so you might want to work on scrap for a bit to get the feel. I think you can get it in spray cans which might be a bit easier to apply, but it will take more coats. Best of luck!

5. PB Wilson

PB Wilson Member

Oops, I found the other thread and he used spray for the top coats. Anyway, good luck.

6. donnyjaguar

donnyjaguar Member