• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

My first experience with NOS tubes.

SirGilmour

While I must admit this website sucked my into the boutique pedal world (for awhile), it never sucked me into the boutique guitar, amp(I wanted a BC waayyy before I knew about TGP), and NOS tube world.

Even after reading a lot of the praises of NOS tubes I still couldnt bring myself to spend $100+ on a single tube. That being said one of my preamp tubes went micro phonic on me last week and I got this wild hair to look for a TGP member that had a stockpile of NOS tubes(I had seen some threads in the past) and see if I could get a few for a good price. I came across a guy whose name I wont mention and he sold me a NOS RCA Blackplate and two other old USA tubes that tested as new for $70 shipped!

This is my first time ever changing tubes in any of my amps.

Now the review: I only spent about an hour playing so far.

I run my amp pretty bright and keep my strat tone knobs at about 6-7 so I can brighten a part up without going back to the amp. After installing the new tubes (preamp, tone stack,phase inverter) I immediately noticed my tone was a lot warmer at the same settings. Even with my tone rolled back to ten it was still warmer than before. Im not too good at describing tone nuances but I will say that the highs were a bit more controlled and blended with the rest of the mid/low frequencies in a nice way. The highs were never brittle per se but I would say they are less brittle/trebly now then they were before at the same setting. I really found my bridge pickup a lot sweeter sounding. I didnt play the new tubes with any pedals yet but the amp OD was great.

I still dont think I would ever spend $100+ on a single tube but I will say these NOS tubes sound great so far and better than the stock ones. Also I have read that the older tubes tend to last a lost longer so that is a bonus.

Sorry for the rambly long thread.

Britishampfan