My homemade pedalboard project

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Digitalman, Sep 30, 2006.

1. Digitalman

Digitalman Member

I was going to hold off on posting this until my board was fully populated, but I'm only waiting on one pedal. I'm also bored today, so here goes...

Obviously the TPG is a wealth of pedalboard knowledge and I've gleaned countless ideas from you guys. I've waded through the mighty pedalboard thread and that provided basically all of the research material that was needed. The threads by Den and Selavie here in particular were the most insightful. Pumaboards and Trailertrash were my biggest influences and if I wasn't into building things and coming up with projects in general, they'd be the first I'd turn to.

So, I'm a designer / CAD guy, it's what I've been doing professionally for the past ten years. I work for an A/V company that does automated home systems and fancy theaters, etc. Most of the time I'm posting on the TPG, I'm taking a break from drawing stuff. So that's where the project started...all mistakes are made in the computer, before I fire up a saw.

[​IMG]

The first thing was the case I found for $20 at Lowes. The whole point was to build it for cheap, so I figured out how to arrange my pedals inside of a 17" wide and 12" deep footprint. I only have six, so I wasn't shooting for anything major. I liked the wedge idea, because you can route the wires underneath. Plus I think it's a little more ergonomic. After all the CAD was done - I built a mock up out of foam core and placed all my pedals on it to be sure it felt OK. I've never been one to jump around a lot when I play, so my toe tapping is pretty calculated. I knew they'd be packed in tight.

[​IMG]