My Honeymoon with the Aracom and UA Comparison

alivegy

I've been using an ultimate attenuator for a little over 2 years now and have just spent about 2 hours with my new Aracom. I've been playing guitar for about 14 years now and I'm a bit of an apartment warrior. I would like to gig more but currently don't, so I mostly just play on my own and write music in my apartment. Not gigging much hasn't made me any less picky about my tone and after a long time of searching through a field of both vintage and boutique amps I finally landed on a 100 watt JCM800 as the tone that I was after. Unlike most people I use the 800 mostly for it's great clean tones. I dial in a bit of crunch, roll off the volume for a great clean, or step on a boost to really make the 800 roar.

Being in an apartment and using a 100 watt amp has made an attenuator a necessity. I think the UA can get a bit of a bad rap around here, but I'm really indebted to it. The setup I have now wouldn't have been possible without it as it was the first attenuator I think that could really bring the volume of an amp down to reasonable level without killing all of the tone. It is not without it's faults though. It does effect your tone, and it is most noticeable with clean tones. If you're going for cranked plexi tones it works great. I usually used it with the plexi-switch off which definitely darkened the tone. Big clean tones are really it's short coming. You can really hear what it's doing to the sound. It adds some harshness to the high end, especially with the plexi switch on. The plexi switch should really be labeled "the crazy can of freaking pissed off bees switch." If you're thinking of getting a UA, make sure that it has that swithc. These sins could be forgiven and often not even noticed when I was just playing for the sake of playing. But when I went to record these colorations became very noticeable and became as much of the base tone as the amp itself. That wasn't acceptable to me.