My Marshall's standby switch went bad...any ideas why?

EADGBE

It was making a popping sound when I turned it on to play. I played this amp the least. But yet it failed. Any ideas why? My amp repairer replaced it and now the popping sound upon turning it on to play is gone. It's a Marshall 100 watt master volume from 2002.

Mighty Melvin

Well, it's a long time since I was fixing amps for a living but the standby switches then were turning on and off a zillion volts. It's a miracle that they all didn't blow up.

If a switch doesn't open and close very quickly and sharply it will burn out. Maybe yours was like that. Or wasn't, to be more accurate.

Jeff Gehring

Gold Supporting Member
Every switch exhibits contact bounce to some degree. That means when you close the switch, the contacts slam together, then bounce a few times before settling into the fully closed position. When you first close the standby switch, the caps on the load side of the switch are discharged. Voltage cannot change instantaneously in a capacitor, just as current cannot instantaneously change in an inductor. So when the contacts first close to connect the rectifier HV output to the load filter caps, those caps appear initially as a near short. There is an initial high current surge as those caps charge. This is taking place during the period of contact bounce, so there is some arcing going on inside the switch as the load is connected/disconnected/connected etc, until the switch has settled. If the switch is a cheap one, or poorly made, the contacts may begin to pit from the arcing over time, and there may be an accumulation of carbon deposited from the arcs. All of which can lead to a switch acting up, as you experienced.

MKB

Silver Supporting Member
That standby switch is likely rated for voltage well below the operating voltage it's seeing. Surprised they don't fail more often.
This. Just another of the questionable design details of some Marshall amps: