My new G&L just arrived.............

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by OldSchool, Jun 10, 2006.

1. OldSchool

OldSchool Senior Member

[​IMG]

This is my first G&L. All I can say is wow! Nothing Fender makes is on par with this guitar for under $2000. (3 times what I paid for this guitar). It actually reminded me alot of this reverse headstocked Grosh I had and wished I didn't sell so I said what the Hey and bought it. Its really up to par in almost every dept. IMO. I was a little concerned about the neck shape becuase i have little to no experience with G&L but I was told by the seller that the neck was a little beefy compared to Reg Lagacys. He thinks they ran a special shape for the reverse headstock. The Neck feels Great to me. Definitely on par with a PRS wide fat. Perfect Jumbo frets..........I can't believe the value these guitars offer. The only thing I can think of that may turn people off is the look of the Fulcrum Trem. It seems to work nicely (One of the first songs I played on this guitar was SRV's Lenny) but its bulky looking........kinda reminds me of a 80's Kahler not very vintage looking at all but thats in the eye of the beholder I guess. I'm fine with it. The neck has no vintage tint and is kinda white but I guess I'll just have to provide my own with years of playing!

The Pickups are high output. I'm getting some great early ZZ Top tones on the bridge with overdrive........clean its slighty Ice Picky but I was able to fix that with a little of the tone knob dropped off.

Great Clapton/Knopfler with the Bridge/ Middle .[​IMG]

The Middle alone is very bright and to my ears sounds better mixed with the Bridge and Neck. I think they designed it this way becuase the inbetween tones are steller!

Neck/middle has a fantasic SRV Lenny Type Tone clean. Very rubbery and bouncy. I love this setting!