My NGD - Rocket Fire's Secret Recipe Strat

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by specialidiot, May 13, 2015.

1. specialidiot

specialidiot most likely to seceede Supporting Member

A few months ago Nick put up an Emporium ad for his new line of guitars - Secret Recipe. Essentially the same as his standard line but with a different neck.

My first "good" guitar was a 2012 G&L Legacy, which I had since new. It was the only guitar I've held on to since I started learning in 2012 - bought it in the fall and it had been a great guitar for me. So I knew I really like the Strat body style, and someday I'd get a really good one.

So back to Nick and his Secret Recipe line - I had read a lot about his builds and now the price point was down to something I could do. I contacted Nick about what he was building in his next batch - my preference was for Olympic White body, mint pickguard, rosewood fretboard and his 60's style pickups. He actually had one coming up in that batch and was willing to hold on to it until my G&L sold.

I listed the G&L and it sold in a week - I also sold off some leftover stuff and the buy was on. Nick was fantastic through the whole process, always a quick reply to my emails, and best of all he delivered what we discussed quicker than I anticipated - which is rare (see King Bee and my long, frustrating wait)

The guitar arrived and it was exactly what I wanted! Nick got the aging just right - very light with a bit of wear at the arm cut, and slightly yellowed to show off the pick guard. And the neck, he hit it perfectly. Damn she's a beauty!!

It plays wonderfully - when I pick it up it just fits, the neck is perfect, it stays in tune, and the pickups have the perfect range from growl to soaring. My ability no where nears the capability of what this guitar can do but I am thrilled to have it, and it will stay.

Specs as follows for Nick's 62 Style Secret Recipe

-Superior Alder Body
    -Indian Rosewoood Neck
    -6105 frets
    -Bone Nut