My quest for a small combo...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by stubish, Sep 17, 2006.

1. stubish

stubish Member

Hi all,
    Well, the EL84 list is going, but it's gotten out of hand and is just making my decision making progress harder. Can you suggest some amps for me? I'll give you some ammunition

I'm looking for something budget minded (as I work as a volounteer for a LIVING if you can figure that out...). Hopefully under $500USD

Here's the requirements

* Budget of up to $500
    * Combo (1x12 preferably)
    * tube gain and power stages
    * needs a serial effects loop or a paralell that can be set to 100% wet.
    * Not more than 50 watts. I'd like an open sound at bedroom to small club levels.
    * a compensated out would be nice but not mandatory.
    * I seem to be a bit partial to EL84's for the power stage...

So I've played and liked Both the traynor blue series. I can't seem to get a handle on the Vox CCX's in the shop at least. A bit hard to dial something I like at levels that don't send myself and the shop monkey's into aural induced seizures. I've also seem to be a bit partial to the sound of a vibrolux on breakup if that makes any sense. Ohh, the laneys I've heard are also ok.

So..... I'm thinking I've gotta try and get my hands on a classic 30 to try (and take into consideration it's modding potential). What else should I be looking at?

I'm in Vancouver, so if anybody knows where to go in Van to try the amps they are recomending, that would also be good.

I'll await your collective wisdom.

Cheers!
    Stu

2. stubish

stubish Member

So I guess I'm on the right track already then?

3. Nigel11

Nigel11 Member

Try a Carvin vintage 16 .It doesn't have a effects loop but for $400 you can't get a better amp.

4. Brien

Brien Member

5. Taller

Taller Silver Supporting Member

Anywhere is everywhere and nowhere is nothing.
    Peavey Classic 30.

6. RevelationAmps

RevelationAmps Member

7. VTX-XTC

VTX-XTC Member