My switch from Tube Amps.

Bikedude

Gold Supporting Member
I'm a complete sucker for good tube amps. I've purchased many great amps the last ten years, but I'm changing my perspective as of late. I'm currently playing in a band that plays off the stage, with just vocals in a modest PA. Quite frankly I'm getting ear fatigue. Before this band, I miced to FOH my amps, for a decent stage level. This band is kind of loud, and the sound out front, not optimal.
I have been subbing with a band that has been going direct for the last 7 years. Over the last few years of fill-ins, I've used an RP500, an HD500, some amps miced, tilted at me away from the band, and the best results were with my Tech21 after my small pedalboard, into a K10, to FOH.
I may have a permanent slot with these guys, so I have been assembling my new KPA rack, K10, to FOH. I'm waiting for my uno4Kemper chip, and I have to debut this rig next Wed. Quite frankly I can't wait! The sounds I'm getting with the stock profiles are amazing. I'm using the stock TAF's tweaked a little. I don't have the great PA they use, so I'm hoping I won't have to do much when I get to the gig. Ill probably have to eq a bit, but ill just eq the main out section to keep it simple.
I've got a couple of amps up for sale, and my 500's will go up next. The KPA is a serious upgrade to any digital stuff I've ever used. I'm really excited to get this rig on the job with this group, thru the fantastic PA.

That's all, just sayin!

690MBCOMMANDO

With the improvements in modeling as of late I have been using them more as well. I finally got tired of using lugging all my gear, getting mic'd up and then listening to myself post FOH through IEMs just to have my tone butchered at the board....why bring all that gear when I can go direct and they have less chance to mess it up....

Pietro

2-Voice Guitar Junkie and All-Around Awesome Guy