My weird, vintage, rare amp

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by ecvMatt, Apr 28, 2008.

1. ecvMatt

ecvMatt Member

Hello all. i am new to TGP and would like some input on one of my amps. It is a St. George. The model is the Squire head. It has 2 6V6 output tubes and 3 12AX7 preamp tubes. It has a wonderful sounding tube tremolo, very mellow. Here is what I have gathered about the amp so far. It was made by Massie electronics in Los Angeles, St. George was a distributor at the time who put its badge on there. Massie was Leo Fenders amp designer for many years before he went off on that endeavor. Since purchasing mine, I have seen 1 other appear on ebay, unfortunately i didn't follow it to close so I have no idea what it sold for. My best estimation dates this amp to the late 60s though I could be way off. Does anyone know anything about St. George amps? Is the circuit similar to any of the fenders of the era( I am sure it is, just wonder which?) I like the amp, it has a great tone with my tele, the tremolo works which seems pretty cool since both that have been reviewd on HC as well as the one I saw on Ebay were listed as not working.

I know this is a shot in the dark but........anyone?

:RoCkIn

2. ecvMatt

ecvMatt Member

and i know
    :worthless

I'll try and get a few up after work

3. SatelliteAmps

SatelliteAmps Member

I have two of them. Amp is a good amp. I've heard the same story, but I have never seen anything to back up any info that the amp was made by anyone who worked for Fender. George's Guitars in Hollywood is actually the company that had them made, and distributed them. They also had guitars, mandolins, and drums made in Japan and distributed in the US under the same name. Similar to most lower budget Teisco stuff. The mandolins pop up sometimes, and are extremely cool looking, almost like an old Bigsby.