1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

n00b questions about a tube amp

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by Facemelt, Jan 18, 2008.

1. Facemelt

Facemelt Member

Somewhere south of hell & north of Mexico
    OK, I have been playing guitar for about a year. I recently started playing with an amp more often and have picked up a couple. I have some questions for the very knowledgeable and nice folks on this board.

The amps I have are a Vox AD50vt 212 and a Fender 75

The one that concerns me the most is the 75.
    Is there any danger for my kids messing with them? I have several small ones that may be inclined to do investigative things to it. You know, like sticking their hand in the back or maybe sticking an object in the back....
    I watch my kids well but the amps are accessible and kids are kids ya know.

Now, my next question is about the amp's sound. I leave the lead channel off via the footswitch because I have read up on it and I agree that it sounds rough (even to my undeveloped ear). The thing is that when I turn the amp up loud the speaker kind of sounds like it is "farting"? Not sure how to describe it but it sound kinda like it isn't handling the sound well or something. The speaker is non original and is a celestion G12K-85. Is the speaker blown maybe? Or is this just something to do with the speaker not handling what it gets? How would I know?

I'm sure I will have more questions but I don't want to get the subject too confusing.

As a disclaimer/reminder, I know very little about amps and these are my first two tube amps purchased at almost the same time.

Thanks very much!
    Chris

2. PRNDL

PRNDL Member

>> when I turn the amp up loud the speaker kind of sounds like it is "farting"

This is a very common issue with Fender amps. Most turn the bass down to 2, which at first seems really low, but that's what they want.