NAD Mesa Boogie Mark IIB Combo

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Gridlock, Jan 25, 2015.

1. Gridlock

Gridlock Member

Picked this amp up last Thursday evening and I am guessing that this is a 1982 Mark IIB, it has two 6L6's and two EL34's for power tubes, is Simul-Class at 75 watts (Class A/B) and 15 watts (Class A), has a nice spring reverb, an EVM-12L speaker, blue tolex, and silver grill cloth, and plenty of tonal options which I am still learning.

In my internet searches, I have not seen another Mark amp with this tolex/grill color combination which appears to be factory (a special order?).

The amp appears to be all original and is in an 8.5 out of 10 condition. It appears to have been gigged. The amp is very quiet at idle, and I can get sustaining overdrive at lower volumes. The clean channel is nice, different from my Fender amps but still nice. The reverb works good, again different from my Fenders, not as deep and wet but still nice.

I am still working to get that smooth overdriven sound (Santana like) out of this amp, especially at lower volumes. I am pretty sure this amp will get Santana like smooth overdrive at louder volumes but I have not yet had a chance to try the amp at volume.

I am also thinking or ordering a full set of four Mesa branded 6L6's and replacing the two EL34's to help round and smooth out the overdrive. The Mesa Users Manual for this amp states that this is an option and I think that the quad o 6L6's will give me a more rounder-smoother overdrive tone.

I still need to experiment with running at the two wattage's, different ohm's settings (allowable from the manual), and with different guitars. I wish there was more information on this amp on the web and from Mesa.

Any tone setting suggestions to help me get smoother-sustaining overdriven tones at low to moderate volumes are welcome.