Native Instrument Guitar Rig

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by jzucker, Sep 6, 2005.

1. jzucker

jzucker Supporting Member

I notice they've knocked $100 off the price now. They're either getting ready for 2.0 or discontinuing it. I would assume the sales on that to be low. Unfortunately, NI does not have any presence on their own web forum. Anyone know anything?

P.S.

Listened to the Waves GTR demo and was not impressed

2. TAVD

TAVD Guitar Player Gold Supporting Member

3. Orren

Orren Member

Anyone who knows anything is under NDA not to say anything. And of course anyone who does talk, is either breaking confidence, or lying. :)

But as a computer music writer, I can tell you this semi-public information: sales have been very good, so I don't think it would make much sense to discontinue the product.

I have no idea how NI or retailers handle there prices, but maybe they simply decided that in a competitive marketplace with new competition either here (Waves) or on the way (Amplitube 2.0), they needed a more competitive price? I don't think a price change necessarily spells doom or upgrade.

Orren

4. elambo

elambo Member

I have no insider info, but my guess is that they're trying to compete. At $500, it was a bit high. With $100 taken off it's more attractive.

I've heard that it was a good seller also.

5. jzucker

Well - They're going to lose their customer base by not participating in their own forums. There has been almost no official communication on their forum for months. I think folks are starting to jump ship.

P.S.

$500 was the list price. It was $399 discounted though I agree at $299 it's going to be an easier sale.

6. BSHARP

BSHARP Member