Navigation/GPS: Anyone use their Phone ONLY?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by NBlair930, Jun 2, 2015.

1. NBlair930

NBlair930 Silver Supporting Member

I am looking at leasing a new car and the cost for the built-in OEM Navigation/GPS is crazy expensive, especially for a vehicle I do not own. The monthly payment will be significantly less if I do not get the Navigation. I know in "the old days" all of my cars did not have Navigation/GPS and I survived. Plus, the Navigation apps on my iPhone do a great job, but the screen is small in comparison.

Curious if anyone has recently opted NOT to get GPS in their new car and rely ONLY on their phone for Navigation? Do you regret it?

2. bayAreaDude

bayAreaDude Member

I've never had a car with GPS, phone works fine, though I don't use it much.

3. JMintzer

JMintzer Burned Out Mod

Nav on a phone is a data hog. If you have an unlimited data plan, go for it...

4. T Dizz

T Dizz Member

I do use my phone. I'm a no limit data soldier so I don't need to worry

5. GCDEF

GCDEF Supporting Member

I use a Magellan unit that attaches to the windshield. Seems easier to use and see than a phone, plus doesn't drain the phone battery or eat data.

6. BrewDrinkRepeat

BrewDrinkRepeat Member

I still have unlimited data, and love using Waze to get around traffic, but I still haven't found an iOS GPS app that has all the features and functionality of my Garmin. If the Google Maps app would actually sync with all my custom maps and routes online it would go a long way towards that goal, but so far after years Google still hasn't seen fit to add any of that to the iOS app. :mad:

7. BrewDrinkRepeat

BrewDrinkRepeat Member

Still doesn't sound like I can load in all of my custom maps and routes that I have access to via the website... :(