NBD - NS Design Radius 5-string!

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by BigDoug1053, Feb 13, 2018.

1. BigDoug1053

BigDoug1053 Supporting Member

2. Jeff Scott

Jeff Scott Member

I'd like a 4 string fretless with just the piezo pickup, ditch the mag ones.

3. Jon Moody

Jon Moody Member

Meh, the piezo by itself isn't as great on a solid-bodied one but combined with the EMGs in it, it's great.

To the OP, I've been an NS Endorsing Artist for a number of years now, and use my CR-5M Electric-Upright pretty regularly at gigs. I have a Radius CR 5 string as well (it's in my bio pic), and don't gig a ton with it, but do enjoy it quite a bit.

BigDoug1053 likes this.
  4. tjontheroad

tjontheroad Supporting Member

New Jersey... YOU GOTTA PROBLEM WITH THAT?!?!
    Always wanted to try one of those. Congrats.

I have a 4 string Omnibass (piezo only). It's fun to play, but hasn't got much use lately. I was thinking about selling it.

5. s2y

s2y Member

I haven't heard piezos on a fretted bass that wowed me. I'd imagine fretless would make the piezo sound a little better. I have RMC piezo in my fretless Conklin, which sound so good that I rarely use the magnetic pickups.

6. Jon Moody

Jon Moody Member

I have yet to find a piezo on a fretted or fretless, that I like solo. It's a nice add-in to the pickups because it brings a nice percussive nuance and a kind of sparkle to the sound, but otherwise nope.

7. s2y

s2y Member

Respectfully, I highly doubt either of us have tried every config under the sun. I have yet to see another bass with the same specs as my Conklin. Rob Allen users never seem to have a problem with the Fishman piezo.

8. Jon Moody

Jon Moody Member

I've tried way more than people think (one of the perks of the day job), but sure. Which is why I led with "I have yet to find..." ;)

9. s2y

s2y Member

What is your synopsis of the Rob Allen Mouse 30?

10. Jon Moody

Jon Moody Member