Neal Schon plays TOO fast

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by Baba, Jan 10, 2019.

1. Baba

Baba Supporting Member

First off, I’m one of the biggest Neal Schon fans you will find, have been since I started playing.

I love the fact that he can burn AND play bluesy and/or melodic as well.

BUT, in the last 10-15 years, his burning/shredding whatever you want to call it, has gotten to the point where you can’t even hear the notes anymore, which makes playing it completely pointless.

Here’s a recent vid from G4:

Forget for a second what song he’s playing, it’s not about a tribute to the song or accuracy, and that’s fine.

Moby Dick, Hamer95USA, sahhas and 2 others like this.
  2. gtrbarbarian

gtrbarbarian Silver Supporting Member

Some of that was definitely tasty...Neal Schon gave me the guitar bug when Escape came out, so I'm a huge fan....that said, gotta agree with you....some of the phrasing has left Neal for sheer speed wankage. There is no melody in that kind of speed...unless you're Marty Friedman

3. Drak

Drak Supporting Member

He's 64 years old.
    I doubt he really cares that much about it anymore as long as the paychecks are still flowing...

4. Boston617

Boston617 Member

Neal playing Ibanez? o_O

5. chrisross

chrisross Supporting Member

Sounds like he went full toe on the wah every time he did a fast run.

Thorazine Dream, Jim S, dg87 and 2 others like this.
  6. Bob Maximus

Bob Maximus Silver Supporting Member

that clip did not inspire me much

Gig Young, bsuite, Pedal Dan and 5 others like this.
  7. NorCal_Val

NorCal_Val Member

His fast playing has always had a “rats scampering across slick linoleum” sound to me.

Gig Young, uab9253, mvd18969 and 40 others like this.
  8. s2y

s2y Member

I loved a lot of his past playing. Too fast and too much whammy for the last ~10 years. Coming from me, that's a sign it's way too much.

kstrat62, forgivenman, Dale and 2 others like this.
  9. PdL

PdL Silver Supporting Member