Nearfield monitors....what are you currently using?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Voodoo Soul Blues, Mar 29, 2020.

1. Voodoo Soul Blues

Voodoo Soul Blues Supporting Member

I’ve been using KRK v4 series 2 for about ten years (roughly) now and I am still really happy with them.......I always check my mixes on other speakers but these are definitely what I use 90 percent of the time.
    They have proven the test of time, they are reliable sonically and they sound great.
    One of the few things in my recording/mixing arsenal I haven’t felt the need to change.

What are you you currently using?
    Why do you like/dislike them?

2. eclecto-acoustic

eclecto-acoustic Supporting Member

Yorkville YSM5. Really solid monitors with lots to like.

Pros:

Relatively subdued looks*
    Front ports (SO important for near-fields in small rooms)
    HF sensitivity option
    Great, clinical sound
    Surprisingly solid low end

Cons:
    *Power switch lights up blue - not a big deal for some, but I don't like stuff that lights up unnecessarily
    Not quite enough jam for electronic styles without a sub

I've been contemplating jumping up to a set of YSM8s on stands, purely because I'm doing a lot of synth stuff these days and like to hear more of what's happening on the low end. For rock-oriented mixes, the 5s are PLENTY though.

3. Captngeetch

Captngeetch Supporting Member