Neck pickup choice help!

I am in the process of putting together a guitar from an alder body I had bought off ebay. As Im sure all of you guys have experienced (this is my first time putting together a guitar) I have been going nuts over just fantasizing all of the stuff I could do with it. but there's one thing Im realllly unsure about: the neck pickup.
its routed for a single coil and I plan on keeping it that way; Im looking for something that can get that John Mayer strat sound, you know that really nice clean bluesy sound he has, but also something versatile enough to pull that "melt your face" kind of lead.
thanks in advance :D

Mike9

Supporting Member
If you're on a budget a Duncan APS-2 sounds great in the neck spot and can be had for a reasonable price.

davejeon02

Try the Chris Klein S-5 Scooped set. They sound amazing clean and are great with light-moderate overdrive. They're dirt cheap and to boot, he's a TGPer and an awesome guy to deal with. These were designed off of JM's Big Dipper pickups so I think you'll like them.

dazco