Necks and tone

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Mpcoluv, Jan 18, 2015.

1. Mpcoluv

Mpcoluv Supporting Member

Guys, to continue the what makes a tonal difference debate, I just swapped a Shecter (I think - Stamped made in canada in '87-88) neck that is more or less a Warmoth 59 roundback profile on my Fernandes bodied parts caster and it made a big tonal difference over the thin "wizard" neck that came on it. The replacement neck also has fairly heavy Sperzel tuners.
    More resonant tone and more sustain.
    Most of the times I have swapped a bolt on neck for a fatter profile, I have thought the guitar sounded better.
    Anyone else experience this?
    Am I hearing with my eyes? It does play better overall ...

2. XKnight

XKnight Member

Thicker neck equals thicker tone makes sense to me, but I'm no expert. Everything else being equal, it seems that a denser body wood or neck wood should make for a thicker tone and more sustain. Of course thicker tones aren't always desirable.

3. kiwicanuck

kiwicanuck Member

I think there's a very strong possibility that your ears and brain are working together to fool you. Not saying that's what it is, but it's a well known thing. I've done it a lot.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confirmation_bias

4. shane88

shane88 Member

yes ... but your happiness is important to us

5. Wayne Alexander

Wayne Alexander Supporting Member

On bolt neck guitars, if you swap necks, more of the sound follows the neck than the body. This isn't an illusion.

6. Neo

Neo Member

I agree. I've played or owned many Historic LPs and the fat necked R7s & R8s have typically sounded bigger than R9s I tried. Heavy guitars to me usually have a big sound as well although to me they tend to have that sterile Metallica type tone where all the notes of a chord can be heard with none of that classic rock bloom and growl.

7. Badside

Badside Member

Problem is confirmation bias works both way too :)