Need a better Tube amp combo... Contemplating JVM205c or Transatlantic TA-30 2x12

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by dr_n00b, Apr 17, 2015.

1. dr_n00b

dr_n00b Member

Hi,
    I have been going through many posts here as a non-member and was impressed by the knowledge and experience of the user base, so I decided to share my dilemma before shelling out my hard earned cash... :dunno
    I'm not a professional musician, and I mostly play blues. Rarely, I do hard rock covers. I play a Les Paul Standard 08' and an American Deluxe Strat. Most of my work is recreational home recording.
    A few years ago when I went up from my first guitar and bought the LP, I grabbed with it what was to my ear was the best and most cost effective low wattage amp in the store – a Blackstar HT-5R. Later on I got a chance to grab second hand a Blues Jr. recently I've been feeling like I'm running to high-end instruments through an entry level rig. The Blackstar, although nice and versatile, is starting to sound generic to me. It lacks character. The Blues Jr. which is unmodded, has far more character, but it's a one trick pony. Although it's a great trick… I'm GASing for a new amp. A Combo I think mostly suits my needs. I'd rather have 2 great channels on the amp, a Clean and a Crunch, but if I can't - I'd rather have a sweet Crunch and I would just keep the Blues Jr..
    So I set the budget at 2K (although I can make the wife happy and spend less), and went out tone hunting. It should be noted that I'm Israeli, so the available variety isn't large, and very few boutique manufacturers are available. Not all stores hold all models (and most are exclusive importers of 1-2 brands), and so I have to rely heavily on Youtube. Here are my results -